Various Artists - Topic Records - The Real Sound Of Folk Music

  • 2CD - £ 9.99

    This product is currently out of stock.

  • 2LP - £ 19.99

    This product is currently out of stock.

Release Date 20th October 2017


The perfect introduction to Topic Records the worlds oldest surviving independent record label, a 2 CD set featuring 28 specially selected tracks from the labels vast catalogue.The story of Topic is synonymous with the growth of folk as a musical and social movement in Britain and these recordings demonstrate the bridge between modern music and a traditional art form.

On this 2 CD set you will find some of the most remarkable singers, songs and tunes – either drawn directly from the tradition or inspired by it. Tracks featured include John Tam's, Unity, Steve Ashley's ,Ships of Shame, Dick Gaughan's, Both Sides the Tweed and Ewan MacColl's, Dirty Old Town. Many of the tracks deal with social issues of the time and there are also re-workings of great traditional story songs like - Anne Briggs' Blackwater Side, Mike Watersons' Tamlyn, Nic Jones' Canadee-i-o and the majestic performances by Martin Simpson, Shirley Collins, Davy Graham, Martin Carthy, Eliza Carthy and The Watersons.

Topic also offers up June Tabor and Oysterband cover version of Joy Divisions classic Love Will Tear Us Apart. Pentangle, Andrew Cronshaw, Brass Monkey, Vin Garbutt, Johnny Handle, Bill Caddick, The Cheviot Ranters, Cilla Fisher and Artie Tresize, Silly Sisters, Tim Van Eyken, Peter Bellamy and Oak – the list goes on – a fulfilling and haunting introduction to the great legacy of the folk tradition and Topic Records

You Might Also Like