Stick In The Wheel - Follow Them True

  • CD - £ 9.99
  • LP - £ 18.99

    This product is currently out of stock.

Release Date 26th January 2018


East London five piece folk band Stick in the Wheel are headed by singer Nicola Kearey, and guitarist/producer Ian Carter. Their debut "From Here"(2015) was fRoots magazine Album of the Year and a MOJO Folk Album of the Year, with four BBC Folk Award nominations since their inception in 2013. They are known for Kearey's fierce, working-class delivery, culturally and politically switched on, the group have been widely commended for their timely appraisal of English Folk, and their skill in telling stories through song that reconnect modern audiences to the past - drawing unexpected parallels between then and now.Their second album 'Follow Them True' examines Rituals and Cycles; how we have the power to change ourselves and the world around us, the past repeating itself, ghosts and death, land and place, thieves and beggars. It continues to question the notion of what folk music is, and what it means in 2018. The new album uses a broader sonic palette than previously and there is no-one else pushing the boundaries of this music in quite the way Stick In The Wheel are.

"A record of real vitality, Stick In The Wheel rip apart the preconceptions surrounding folk music and retrieve the tender, beating heart at the centre of so much traditional culture." ClashMusic "A shot in the arm for contemporary folk music" The Independent

You Might Also Like

  • Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band

    Big Machine

    • CD - £ 9.99
    • 2 CD - £ 12.99

      This product is currently out of stock.

    • LP - £ 24.99

      This product is currently out of stock.

  • Leveret


    • CD - £ 10.99
  • The Unthanks - Memory Book

    From £ 19.99