John Oates - Arkansas

  • CD - £ 11.99
  • LP - £ 19.99

Release Date 2nd February 2018


The sonic glue that holds the project together is called The Good Road Band. The impressive lineup consists of legendary mandolin players Sam Bush, pedal steel innovator Russ Pahl, world famous electric guitar picker Guthrie Trapp, bass veteran Steve Mackey, cello virtuoso Nat Smith, and the groove of percussionist Josh Day. Combine that ensemble with Oates' warm and personal storytelling, and you have a one-of- a-kind experience that is authentic and unforgettable. The project originally began as a tribute to Oates' idol, Mississippi John Hurt . It evolved organically, during a series of Nashville recording sessions, into a unique, retrospective collection drawing from a wide range of Oates' musical influences. Asked about the style and sound of Arkansas, he say's , "It's like Dixieland dipped in bluegrass and salted with Delta blues." The title track is propelled by a driving production that frames evocative images of the mist rising off the mighty Mississippi River and the expansiveness of the cotton fields in America's heartland. With the essence of roots music at its core, vintage and modern recording techniques are woven throughout the album. With this incredible band, Oates shines a light on popular songs from America's past long before the birth of rock 'n' roll.

You Might Also Like

  • Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit

    The Nashville Sound

    • CD - £ 11.99
    • Vinyl - £ 16.99

      This product is currently out of stock.

    • Indies Only LP + book with song chords - £ 21.99

      This product is currently out of stock.

  • Chris Stapleton

    From a Room Vol 1

    • CD - £ 12.99
    • Vinyl - £ 23.99

      This product is currently out of stock.

  • Mo Pitney

    Behind This Guitar

    • CD - £ 10.99
    • LP - £ 17.99