Conor Oberst - Salutations

  • CD - £ 11.99
  • LP - £ 25.99

    This product is currently out of stock.

Release Date 17th March 2017


Conor Oberst’s new album, Salutations, is a companion piece to 2016's lauded Ruminations. When Oberst wrote and recorded the songs on Ruminations, entirely solo – with just voice, piano, guitar and harmonica – he intended to ultimately record them with a full band. In the midst of putting together that band – upstate New York's The Felice Brothers plus the legendary drummer Jim Keltner (Neil Young, Jackson Browne, George Harrison, Bob Dylan, John Lennon, and many more) – the passionate responses Oberst was getting to those first solo recordings, from friends and colleagues, encouraged him to release the songs as-is, in their original sparse form, as his seventh solo album: Ruminations, which was released in October 2016. Pitchfork called it ‘A record like none other in Oberst’s catalog, stunning for how utterly alone he sounds,’ and the Sunday Times called it, ‘The rawest album yet from the forever troubled one-time voice of a generation. Political and very, very personal,’ saying Oberst is ‘One of the best songwriters around.’

Meanwhile, Oberst simultaneously moved ahead with his plans to record with the band, heading to the famed Shangri-la Studios in Malibu to record Salutations – co-produced with Keltner and engineered by long-time musical compadre Andy LeMaster. Guest contributions come courtesy of Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson.

You Might Also Like

  • Bob Dylan

    The Times They Are A Changin’

    • LP - £ 17.99

      This product is currently out of stock.

  • Mudcrutch


    • CD - £ 11.99
    • LP - £ 19.99
  • Jim James

    Eternally Even

    • CD - £ 11.99
    • LP - £ 18.99

      This product is currently out of stock.